Southern Tasmanian Waste Management Group

The Southern Tasmanian Waste Management Group (STWMG) has been established to enable the 12 southern councils to work cooperatively on waste management and resource recovery issues and projects.

The Group will work collaboratively between themselves, other regions of the state and the State Government to determine the best long term structural arrangements for addressing waste management issues in the region and the state as a whole.

Officers from member councils are members of a steering committee which is responsible for overseeing the operation of the Group.

This Group was formally known as Waste Strategy South.

Member Councils


  • David Cundall – Southern Midlands Council
  • Heath MacPherson – Brighton Council
  • Bev Armstrong – Central Highlands Council
  • Ross Graham – Clarence City Council
  • Amanda McCall – Derwent Valley Council
  • Greg Ingham – Glamorgan Spring Bay Council
  • Evan Brown – Glenorchy City Council
  • Glenn Doyle – Hobart City Council
  • Amanda Blakney – Huon Valley Council
  • David Reeve – Kingborough Council
  • Greg Robertson – Sorell Council
  • John Hueston – Tasman Council
Contact Us