The results of a recent waste audit have shown that people in north west and northern Tasmania do not have an environmentally friendly way to dispose of their used household batteries, with a significant number buried in landfill.

Household dry-cell batteries including AA, AAA, alkaline, lithium, watch, button and cordless drill batteries can now be recycled by taking them to special drop-off points in your local Council office, and other public venues.  Look out for the Rethink Waste Battery Recycling posters and simply drop tbattery-recycling-sign-and-bin-lid-onhem in the special bins provided.

Collected batteries will be sorted and safely shipped to processors who recover materials from the different battery types as inputs to new products.

So when your household batteries are going, going, gone; give them a second life by recycling at your nearest drop-off point:

Break O’Day Council:

  • Customer Service Centre, 32 – 34 Georges Bay Esplanade, St Helens

Burnie City Council:

  • Council Office
  • Tip Shop
  • Waste Management Centre

Central Coast Council:

  • Castra WTS
  • Council Administration Centre
  • Penguin Service Centre
  • Preston WTS
  • South Riana WTS
  • Ulverstone Resource Recovery Centre
  • Ulverstone Visitor Information Centre

Circular Head Council:

  • Phone Council Office for more information 6452 4800

City of Launceston: 

  • Customer Service Centre, Town Hall, St John Street, Launceston
  • Launceston Recycling Centre, Cavalry Road, Mowbray

Devonport City Council:

  • Council Office
  • Lawrence Drive Works Depot
  • Spreyton WTS

Dorset Council:

  • Council Chambers
  • Bridport Pavilion

George Town Council:

  • Council Chambers, 16 – 18 Anne Street, George Town

Kentish Council:

  • Council Office
  • Sheffield WTS
  • Wilmot WTS

Latrobe Council:

  • Council Office
  • Port Sorell WTS

Meander Valley Council:

  • Deloraine Refuse Disposal Site, Tip Road, Deloraine

Northern Midlands Council:

  • Longford Waste Transfer Station, 291 Marlborough Street, Longford

Waratah Wynyard Council:

  • Wynyard WTS

West Tamar Council:

  • Beaconsfield Service Centre
  • Riverside Service Centre

A project of: